Travelogue: The Himalayan Road Trip

This, my friends is an experience of a lifetime… I bet there is no place on earth which can be so simple and adventurous, yet so amazingly beautiful.

We had planned our road route from Srinagar to Leh. But due to military and political issues in Srinagar at that time, our folks didn’t even want to hear of us going there. So we had to change our route starting from Kullu in Himachal Pradesh instead of Srinagar.

Leh, has always been a dream destination for me. I wanted to go there purely to experience the Mighty Himalayas and a bit of the fragile and antagonistic environment of being close to the Line of Control;  Indo – Pakistan and Indo – China border.I tried the same route last year but I couldn’t even make it to Rohtang Pass because of huge traffic blocks caused due to landslides.

…..but this time I made it happen!

The view of Himalayas from the top of Rohtang Pass

…..this is just the beginning!

On a pleasant Thursday afternoon, the three of us… Me, Ruby (My better half) and Shaduly (friend of ours), after our long day’s work, left for Dubai as we were to board from there. After check-in, we roamed around in the duty free shops, got some extra memory cards and torch (which really came into use later). Just before boarding, we munched on Big macs without having a clue that we gonna be missing ‘the food’ immensely for the next week!!

| Next Day >>>

Top

The Himalayan Road trip begins….

35 thoughts on “Travelogue: The Himalayan Road Trip

  1. Dude! Truley a once in a lifetime adventure, thank you so much of taking us along on your trip. Fantastic photos, you should make a coffee table book out of them, I’ll let mom know you posted, she misses your posts..:-)

  2. Shafeel:- Superb work bro…as i said to you, i thought only europe in this world is most beautiful, but i was wrong..u proved me that….It was simply awesome,…and what else i should say you are truley blessed by the God, no you both (ur better half) are. My wife saw ur blog to all our flat mates, they all were like WOW…….. You see the world in different way from other..keep it up mate………

    Shyleen:- I have seen many pics before,,but when i saw ur pics and read along with your blogs,,,only then i realized,,how much effort is there for each single clicks.. and i really admire your works..hats off…

    • @Shafeel: Thanks bro! I’m flattered 😉

      @Shyleen: Thanks dear 😀 Glad you both like my photos and the post 😀 Your husband made me a hero in the office! I’m in love with photography..so I’m more than happy to put in some efforts to get some good ‘Winks’.

  3. Dude!!!!!!!!

    Amazing travelogue and a very theatorical unfolding of true feel of The Great Himalayas. Regret i missed the chance with you guyz and a very little i can write about my trip last year.

    Well done

    Henry

    • Dude!!!! Thank you so much 😀 I’m so happy to know..that what I wrote in the post..brought in the feel of the trip 🙂
      Don’t miss it..if you get another chance!

  4. heyyy this is freaking awesome …never i have seen so descriptive and the pictures a mind blowing and even cud imagine the pain and pleasure u guys had there ……..cud get to know high altitude conditions ….hopefully the friend of urs is better now 🙂 keep posting am a fan of urs

  5. Oh my goodness the scenery is fabulous and your documentation is perfect. There is one thing for certain… even if given the opportunity, I will never be driving the Rohtang pass!!! or, riding for that matter.

  6. omg omg!!!ur blog is really amazing!!! leh has always been my dream destination!! i feel as if I am also experiencing this heavenly beauty when I read ur blog..n must say…beautiful pictures!! just like some Russian painting,,,best were the one with wild horses. I have seen lot of leh pics but has never seen one with these horses!! m jus running out of words while complementing you..jus perfect..n also really sorry about your tripod 😦

  7. Thank you for such an excellent article and wonderful photographs.
    The place else may just anybody get that type of info in such an ideal means of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such info.

  8. Good web site you’ve got here.. It’s difficult
    to find quality writing like yours nowadays.
    I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  9. really informatic and beautifully written.wish i too get a chance to visit these places in my life.have great passion for these roadtrips but don’t know from where to get started.

Leave a Reply

